Day 15 – Waiting for the last of the lasts

The weekend is upon us, and exhaustion is setting in. Actually exhaustion set in on Monday and now we’ve got that adrenaline rush that comes with a second wind. Many groups today had their last shows and are loading out their sets and costumes amongst many hugs and Dutch goodbyes. But there are still a heap of shows tomorrow, and the square is hopping with vendors doling out the mustard and hollandaise sauce for hungry people taking in the entertainment at the Cube and a filled to capacity beer tent.

This is the last Saturday at the Fringe I’ll ever have, at least as a venue technician. There have been a lot of lasts this week and I’ve been trying not to celebrate or lament every single one. Yesterday was the last time I opened the venue in the morning, Tomorrow is the last time I close. There was the last walkie poetry on Friday (available in the menu above), and the last Midnight Cabaret was Wednesday night. I missed the last tech breakfast and the last shootout at the OK Corral, but I went to the last Staff movie night, and the last technician hula-hoop dance off competition…. although I may have dreamt that last one.

There are still more lasts to come, and I tick them off in my mind, one by one until the last time I close the doors at Venue 2 and blog about it on Monday with two months off to follow, and then my last show at the Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre as Head of Sound in October. It all cumulates with retirement.

People keep asking me what I’m going to do, and to be honest, I’m not sure yet, but there is some travel in my future and some rest, and I’m looking forward to both.

But until then, there’s still some Fringing left to do, so I’m heading over to the beer tent to use my last beer tickets and maybe get my last deep fried pickle and possibly a llama burger, and tomorrow I’ll head to some shows in between loading the last of my groups out.

So let’s make the most of these final days and get our Fringe on, because We’re All Not Done Quite Yet Here.

20150725-222159.jpg

About JBJ

John lives in an abandoned toolshed behind a fake rubber vomit warehouse in Winnipeg Manitoba Canada with a squirrel named Peanut Hoarder, where he steals an internet signal from the Kung Fu school next door. He is a little "off". View all posts by JBJ

Leave a Reply

