Day 8 – Whether you weather the weather or not.

Everything’s in full swing during this first weekend of the Winnipeg Fringe Theatre Festival. Now that they are open, all the artists are starting to line up to see other artist’s shows, the critics are throwing around their stars, and the King’s Head has their expanded patio out.

Up until today, it’s been pretty hot and muggy, but this morning the winds and rain came in and it’s cooled down some. But this is Winnipeg, and a little cold and rain won’t keep the masses from descending on the exchange district this weekend.

It’s pretty interesting, listening to people in line and volunteers and staff all over the site.

When it’s hot:

“Oh my God, this heat is killing me! I’ll surely melt!”

“I know I can’t stand it when it gets like this! I wish it would rain!”

“I’m sweating buckets!”

If I don’t put on sunscreen, I’ll burn to a crisp!”

When it’s raining:

“Oh my God, this rain is killing me! I’ll surely drown!”

“I know, I can’t stand it when it gets like this! I wish it would get sunny!”

“It’s coming down in buckets!

“If I don’t put on a raincoat, I’ll float away!”

When it’s windy:

“OH…. MY…..GOD! This wind is killing me! I’ll surely blow away!”

“I know, I can’t stand it when it gets like this! I wish it would cool it!”

“My bucket blew away!”

“If I don’t get a wind breaker, I might break wind!”

When it’s cold:

“OOOOOOOOOOOHHHHHH MMMMMMMYYYYYYY GOOOOOOOOOOOD! IT’S JULY! WHY IS IT SO COLD? I’LL SURELY FREEZE!”

“I know, I can’t stand it when it gets like this! I wish it would get windy! Ummm… wait…”

“My bucket is frozen”

“If I don’t get a parka, I’ll turn to ice! Hey…… why don’t they have Fringe Festival parkas?

It doesn’t matter what the weather is like, the populace is going to complain, it’s in our nature. But I usually give the same reply to everyone.

“Ya, it is too hot/wet/windy/cold out here. You should come in and see this show in my venue. The weather is perfect in there…

20150718-210914.jpg

About JBJ

John lives in an abandoned toolshed behind a fake rubber vomit warehouse in Winnipeg Manitoba Canada with a squirrel named Peanut Hoarder, where he steals an internet signal from the Kung Fu school next door. He is a little "off". View all posts by JBJ

Leave a Reply

