Prelude 2013: Oh God, not this Fringer again…

Holy screaming mime… it’s almost here again. Another year of clowns, comedians, dancers, singers, naked British people with an occasional thespian thrown in for good luck, as the 2013 Winnipeg Fringe Theatre Festival opens its doors (all 32 of them this year) to an unsuspecting downtown Winnipeg populace.

In one week, my Venue partner and I will be in the middle of our first of ten technical rehearsals, helping to bring the seedy underbelly of creativity to life. It’s the beginning of eighteen straight days of no sleep, street meat, and plastic seats.

Last year I thought I’d blog a little about the antics at Venue 2 Up the Alley, mostly as a cathartic release of thoughts relating to the Fringe. In the middle of the festival, I unintentionally stirred up a hornets nest between the Winnipeg critics and Fringe artists, and there was so much ButtHurt! that it went international. It was kinda cool, although I’d like to point out that I was never anonymous… passive aggressive possibly, but never anonymous. If you have a beef, I’m the tech that kind of looks like Neil Young in short pants and my name is JBJ.

But, because of that I have to reiterate that this is an UNOFFICIAL blog and the opinions and blather that is posted here in Diary of a Fringe Tech is in NO way affiliated with the Winnipeg Fringe Theatre Festival, the Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre, The Canadian Association of Fringe Festivals, or any of their subsiduaries, employees, or pets.

Nuff said.

This year, the Fringe’s branding is “Embrace the ‘F’ Word”. Yes, it’s a branding because I’ve been told in no uncertain terms that it’s not a theme. Regardless of the semantics, I think this is a Fringing great idea. I’ve been embracing that expletive for years, and now it’s like we’ve been given Fringing permission to Fringing swear our Fringing heads off!!!

Fringing A!

So in tribute to those Fringe-Ups who thought up this Fringing brilliant brand/theme, I’m going to start a running tally of how many times I hear the F word on the Fringing Fringe grounds throughout the festival. And I mean the F word that rhymes with Chuck.

So as I don’t have random people in the beer tent just bellowing expletives in my face, it has to be unintentional and not just an excuse to increase the count. Don’t be a Fringing C-Word.

As always, there will be walkie poetry, and I will try to update this thing everyday during my eighteen days, and especially during the actual 12 days of the festival.

Fringe me, but I’m a Fringing glutton for punishment. What a Fringe.

I’ve reorganised some of the stuff here too by adding a few pages at the top in case you’re looking for last year’s posts and poetry.

So get your Fringing butt to a Liquor Mart, Safeway, McNally Robinson or MTC and pick up a Fringing Fringe Program and start reading the Fringing thing and pick the Fringing shows you want to see.

This mother Fringer is going to take a Fringing nap in anticipation of a Fringing long month of getting all Fringed up.

Fringe.

20130706-171509.jpg

About JBJ

John lives in an abandoned toolshed behind a fake rubber vomit warehouse in Winnipeg Manitoba Canada with a squirrel named Peanut Hoarder, where he steals an internet signal from the Kung Fu school next door. He is a little "off". View all posts by JBJ

4 responses to “Prelude 2013: Oh God, not this Fringer again…

Leave a Reply

